Unplugged

The assignment for this project was to create a short narrative in a way that told the whole story without using dialogue.

Act I: boy and his friends are completely detached from the real world and each other due to their electronics, until one day the boy’s ipod dies

Act II: boy wanders around lost and confused, runs into an older man playing guitar who then teaches the boy to play

Act III: brings guitar to school and shares his new abilities with his friends, creates interaction between them

What I think we did well was telling the story without dialogue. I think we used Point of View and Reaction shots well in order to convey the characters thoughts. I also think we did a pretty good job with the lighting (we spent a lot of time on it) but we were also lucky enough to have an overcast day when we shot outside.

What I think needed work was the acting (especially the older guitar man). His actions were really dramatic and unrealistic, and I wish we had spent more time working with him and coaching him. There are definitely a few shots that are out of focus, and we could have spent a bit more time on mixing the sound. Also, I feel that the story is a little too feel-good and predictable. I wish we had spent more time on writing the ending to make it more interesting.

For the most part I am proud of this piece, but it seems a little young looking back on it. I think the message is pretty good though.

Leave a Reply

