First Documentary

I did my first documentary while as a student at Saint Mary’s College in the East Bay. While I wasn’t thrilled with the topic (it was a group project), I still did my best to find the story in the footage that we gathered. I served as producer/editor for the project, and I sifted through over 3 hours of A-roll and B-roll to find a story that was only 7 minutes long. The most difficult challenge for me was to find my own voice in the project. I watched and re watched the footage, and then it was my job to give it a theme, a story that I was passionate about telling. At first I thought documentaries weren’t really my style; but once I got into it, I was hooked.

The story was about a program for international students that was being cut due to insufficient funds by the College (sounds boring, right?). Nevertheless, I had to put as much creative effort into the project as I possibly could. During the shoots, I did my best to capture the story on a multi-dimensional level. I acted as a consultant for the DP and really tried to get a variety in the types of shots we got from the interviews/B-rolls.

When I started editing the story, I took it into a very controversial direction – placing the entire blame on the deans and College staff who in my original opinion, did not care about this important program for international students. Ultimately, I changed my views and the direction of the documentary to the final version, which I am very proud of. The group and I presented the project at the end of the term, and we received many awards from our peers and the panel of judges at the end of the term “film fest.”

The video is on my laptop. I’m trying to get it onto this blog, but for now I thought I would at least write about it.

Thanks for reading!

About javierc415

Student at the University of San Francisco View all posts by javierc415

Leave a Reply

